Heathrow and Gatwick: Full list of countries on the UK green watch list that could move to amber, including Barbados and Taiwan

Summer may be over but Londoners are still heading en masse to Heathrow and Gatwick for an autumn getaway – and will be keeping their eye on which countries are on the green list.

The UK’s green list for travel has 30 countries and territories on it at the moment, however, several are sitting on the green watch list and could move to the amber list at short notice.

The government says the green watch list should allow travellers to make a more informed decision before choosing a holiday destination by highlighting countries at the highest risk of moving to the amber list.

READ MORE: How to spend 48 hours in east London on staycation

Pilgrims transport water lanterns during the Hungry Ghost Festival on August 21, 2021 in Keelung, Taiwan

What are the rules for green list countries?

UK travellers returning from green list countries must take an antigen (lateral flow) test three days prior to flying.

This test can either be purchased in the country or brought from the UK to be taken before travel, however, it cannot be an NHS test and must be paid for privately.

Travellers must also take a second test two days after returning to the UK, which must also be paid for privately.
The booking details of the test are required in order to fly as part of the mandatory passenger locator form.

MyLondon’s brilliant new newsletter The 12 is packed with news, views, features and opinion from across the city.

Every day we’ll send you a free email at around 12pm with 12 stories to keep you entertained, informed and uplifted. It’s the perfect lunchtime read.

The MyLondon team tells London stories for Londoners. Our 45 journalists cover all the news you need – from City Hall to your local streets.

Never miss a moment by signing up to The 12 newsletter here.

What are the rules for amber list countries?

For travellers who have had both doses of the vaccine, the rules around testing are the same as with returning from green list countries.

Those who have not had the vaccine, however, must quarantine on arrival at home in the place in which you are staying for 10 days. They must take an additional test eight days after arrival.

Which countries are on the green watch list?

Information is correct as of the latest list update (August 26).

Countries and territories on the green watch list are: Anguilla, Antarctica/British Antarctic Territory, Antigua and Barbuda, Barbados, Bermuda, British Indian Ocean Territory, Cayman Islands, Croatia, Dominica, Grenada, Isreal and Jerusalem, Madeira, Montserrat, Pitcairn, Henderson, Ducie and Oeno Islands, Taiwan, Turks and Caicos Islands.

Do you want the latest crime, sport, or breaking news in London straight to your inbox? Tailor your needs to suit you here .

Source link